Live/work exchange at eco-smallholding in Wales

We are an extended family (a couple - Naomi and Pip, 2 small children - Elma and Vita and - Michelle- a grandmother!) living on an eco-smallholding by the sea in the wild west of Wales (SA44 6QG). We have just over 9 acres of land, including organic certified pasture where sheep graze, woodland, a small orchard and a large polytunnel and outside food growing area, where we also keep chickens. We grow as much food as we can for ourselves, always according to organic growing principles, and sell any excess fruit, vegetables and eggs to friends and local cafes.

We try to live as sustainably as we can, although there is always room for improvement! We live in a house which has been retrofitted to be as eco as possible, including a solar array feeding the grid, solar thermal panels for heating water, ground source heat and woodburners for heating and our water comes from a borehole. We also have a few outbuildings, including a small and beautiful self contained wooden cabin, which includes a small kitchen, compost loo and shower.

However - we have day jobs too. As well as home educating our children, Pip works part-time managing the food gardens at a local care farm ( and is re-training to be a counsellor and Naomi is a birth and post-natal doula.

Our vision is to share this space as a place of refuge and as a place of inspiration and learning.

We are currently seeking someone (or potentially a couple) to come and live in our cabin on a live-work exchange basis, doing a variety of landwork for 16 hours a week, in exchange for board, vegetables and eggs. We envisage that if the right person/s came along, this would be a 3 to 6 month long stay beginning anytime from mid-April 2019. As life is quite busy for us at the moment, the work will involve quite a lot of independent working, but with regular opportunities for working together too. The main jobs will involve assisting us in taming the overgrown ornamental garden around the house, helping to create a simpler and easier to maintain space, which will enable us to focus our energies more on the food growing spaces and animal husbandry. However, there will also be the opportunity to learn about organic food-growing etc, working alongside us.

Ideally, we are looking for someone who is able to be fairly independent, may already have gardening experience and an interest in sustainability. We imagine it would suit someone who enjoys working outdoors, exploring beautiful rural areas and the quietness that living rurally can bring. You would either have your own transport or are happy to get by using the local bus services (which you can get on the main road which is about a half hour walk from our place). You would be responsible for buying and cooking your own food (bar the veg and eggs on offer here), but we might eat together once a week or so, especially on the days on which we work together.

Our local towns are Newcastle Emlyn and Cardigan (10 miles away), and both of which we really like and where you can find moreorless everything you might need. The area in which we live is a very popular tourist destination with it’s stunning sea and landscapes, so there is a good chance you could find seasonal paid work in the vicinity.

Can’t wait to hear from you!

Contact email: 

Members of the Permaculture Association can add Events, Courses, Jobs and Opportunities to the website noticeboard.

Join or log in to add yours.